Buildings and Stuffs, Cities, Concert, Conventions, Dubai, Geek, Life, Personal, Photography

Middle East Comic Con 2014

CIMG1733The middle East Film and ComicBook Convention of 2014. My first “official” Comic Con.

Back Home I was a regular in Comic Cons, well most were dedicated to Anime And Manga culture, and this is why I state that this was is my first Comic Con, and well it’s the name. It was also my first big convention after emigrating (Games 13 was a fiasco therefore doesn’t count). It was phenomenal, from seeing really good cosplays, to movie props, celebrities, meeting new friends, seeing old ones, there was a bit of everything.

CIMG1744
A 3D/perspective ground painting….IT was unbelievably cool

It is kinda weird being at a convention like this without my usual
“gang”, but either way i finally broke my Girl and Convention Curse (or GCC for short), which I’ll explain in another post.

But moving on…

Well not everything was great, to be honest it kinda started in one of the worse ways possible, with a humongous queue wich took over an hour to get past it …. and this because i kinda cut through a couple of times….yeah yeah it’s wrong I know, but i had friends waiting for me inside, and and….bah you get it . When I got there I was amazed with the size of the arena, it was the biggest convention I have ever seen, possibly two times larger then IberAnime 2012 in the LX Factory in Lisbon.

One of the Iron Man suits, we were told that this was an actual movie prop
One of the Iron Man suits, we were told that this was an actual movie prop

And after being crushed by the sheer size of the inside convention, there was and outside arena with several restaurants a bar, a stage, a prop/cosplay stand, a viking stand and much more.

But one of the events that will definitely take the  gold home was meting Giancarlo Esposito, best known as Gus Fring from Breaking bad.

It seemed like a good Idea in the begginig but it turns out that crossing Gus is like asking for death by boxcutter
It seemed like a good Idea in the begginig but it turns out that crossing Gus is like asking for death by boxcutter

He might portray a bad guy in the series, but he sure is a cool guy in real life, great sense of humor, a great smile and an avid Fist Bumper.

CIMG1764 CIMG1763I also had the opportunity to met a really cool cosplayer, whose name I didn’t ask, but was portraying Skull Kid from Majora’s Mask (legend of zelda) who asked to take a picture of me showing off my lovely hylian crest tattoo, wich is AWESOME!

CIMG1745Almost forgot to explain the viking shed, with Swedish people seeling viking jewelry, they said it was replicas from viking tombs, whether it’s true or not I can’t tell, but they certainly were amazing storytellers, with whom I spend about an hour discussing several aspects of the Norse mythology, they were kinda surprised with my knowledge, so another great victory for me^^

In the End It was an amazing day with new friends and experiences that will be in a special place in my heart for a long time.

Leave a Reply

