Blaberring, Life

Wake me up when September ends

Most people don’t know the story behind one of the most beautiful songs by Green Day, people mock it even saying the end of September is when we should “wake up the green day guy again”, but truth be told, the story is something i can relate too. On September 10th 1982, Billy Joe Armstrong lost his father, the Green Day vocalist was only ten years old, and at his after funeral he ran away from it, hiding in his room. Later when his concerned mother tried to talk with him, comfort him, he shouted screaming, behind a locked door, “wake me up when September ends”. Hence the nostalgia filled song, and the power fullness of it, more then a commercial hit, it’s a heartfelt tune. Truth be told, I identify with the track, I did not attend my father burial. But i felt the need to lock myself from the world.

A2014-08-15 21.03.08-1nd one does not need to lose a loved one to fell like this, sometimes we are crushed by our daily lives, either work, responsibilities, burdens.

Right now I’m hiding behind the smoke of a badly lit cigarette, closing myself in the sound-waves of names ranging from Coltrane, Cash and Green Day, and a bittersweet feeling stirs inside, the burdens I face are big, huge challenges, but at the same time confidence is pumping my veins. I’m not alone!

2014-07-27 01.18.01 HDRI have the love of my family, the warmth of my friends, and the heart love and warmth of someone special, i would call her my soul-mate but that is an understatement. And these are my true strengths, I’m blessed, with all these people in my life, they manage to remind me of who I am, they remind me of who I truly am, pointing my mistakes reinforcing my qualities and making me want to improve myself, as a man, as a student, as a lover, and mostly as a human being.

2014-07-19 20.41.26I am truly blessed, it’s true the post began as a kinda sad tone, but there i one thing I’ve learnt with death, it’s make us take life with a special joy, taking pleasure in the little moments, understanding values that we take for granted. I’ve learned this the hard way, time and time again, and always the hard way.

2013-10-31 13.26.10For instance this summer, facing fears I cowarded, and so I missed deadlines, and dealyed my future, and i’ve hurt people in the process, most of all I’ve hurt my family, and when I managed to face my fears, when I managed to escape the donward spiral, and talked with them after two whole months I managed to talk with them again. And, and, well the joy of speaking of them was unbelievable. To feel the love only a mother can give, I could almost felt hugged, even if It was a skype call. To see my sister’s smile, well, my knees gave in, thankfully i was sitting down.

On the other hand, everyday I’m in touch with my friends, little annoying pieces of reason, damn they are so annoying sometimes, in a good way. Somehow, in someway they manage to surprise me, everyday, and one of them proved me that true happiness is when you find comfort in an unexpected cheeseburger, other showed me that insomniac night are not mandatory lonely. The stories and memories could go on for pages. And finally, i managed to find someone, whose smile, shines to me with the power of a thousand suns, whose words brighten even the gloomiest of days, and with whom I wish to spend my life.

So don’t wake me up when September ends, rather keep me awake all of you, I’ve wasted too much of my life, and you all make me feel truly alive. With you I Have the wisdom to know that nothing is impossible, the courage to venture into the unknown and the power to never stop moving forward

Summer has come and passed
The innocent can never last
wake me up when September ends

like my father’s come to pass
seven years has gone so fast
wake me up when September ends

here comes the rain again
falling from the stars
drenched in my pain again
becoming who we are

as my memory rests
but never forgets what I lost
wake me up when September ends

summer has come and passed
the innocent can never last
wake me up when September ends

ring out the bells again
like we did when spring began
wake me up when September ends

here comes the rain again
falling from the stars
drenched in my pain again
becoming who we are

as my memory rests
but never forgets what I lost
wake me up when September ends

Summer has come and passed
The innocent can never last
wake me up when September ends

like my father’s come to pass
twenty years has gone so fast
wake me up when September ends
wake me up when September ends
wake me up when September ends

Leave a Reply

