Blaberring

“Hitman: My Real Life in the Cartoon World of Wrestling ” by Bret Hart

Wowa, finally, I’ve managed to finish this book, it’s been…3 months…eish, that is actually quite a lot, even for a 600(ish) pages long book. So to celebrate I’m going to review it, also it’s a cool way to pratice my reviews, and to test my book review layout. Hope you guys enjoy it!

“I’m the best there is, the best there was, and the best there ever will be.”

– Bret Hart

4443495
Hardcover, 569 pages. Published October 8th 2008 by Grand Central Publishing First published January 1st 2007 Original Title: Hitman: My Real Life In The Cartoon World Of Wrestling Author: Bret Hart ISBN:0446539724 (ISBN13: 9780446539722)

Hitman (the title is huge therefore I’m going to refer to it as Hitman) by Bret Hart, is an auto biography, written by one of the greatest names in the world of Sports entertainment…Bret “the Hitman” Hart, hmmmm i guess that in other books this segment will be a bit better, but since it is an autobiography, it is about himself.

Although I really enjoy reading wrestlers biographies this is one of those that mean close to nothing to a non fan. But before i dweller into the book itself I have to praise Bret’s writing style, mainly for two reasons; firstly he managed to be as neutral as possible, and avoided portraying himself better then anyone else and secondly and most importantly, this book was written after he’s suffered a severe concussion and had a stroke in the last few years.

Even without taking the latter point in consideration, Bret’s style is nice and bluntly real, he avoids beating around the bush, while managing to show past events as he saw them way back when, but also bringing new facts into the matter.

The book divides itself in several arc, from his childhood, his early wrestling career, his WWF career, his WCW career until his forced retirement and what came after.

Most of the book focus on his professional career, and most of it was on the road, so we are treated with not only a diverse cast but also a diverse scenery, as well as a lot drama. But this forty year journey allow us to travel in time, to both wrestling and other events that shaped the world. For instance Berlin before the wall came down, the impact of the Gulf war, etc.

I will not dwell further into the plot, but overall this book was great read, heavy, blunt but always interesting.

Rating: 4,2/5

Do I recommend it?:

If you are a wrestling fan I go as far as consider it mandatory, otherwise no.

“Each time I glanced into the rearview mirror, the black around my eyes was bigger and darker. Every once in a while Tom and I would look at each other with a silent acknowledgement that we had just worked our greatest match. When I think of it now, a quote from Georges Braque comes to mind: “Art is a wound turned to light.” To my mind, that is also the beauty of pro wrestling.”
― Bret Hart

Leave a Reply

