Emotion, health, Life, Personal

Introvertness

Today at university, during a break, I had a conversation that went something like this:

“Me-Sometimes I hide too much behind the fact that I’m an introvert

Colleague-Since when are YOU an introverted”

I was honestly astonished, I never had my “Introvertness” questioned, actually until this point I had it confirmed and, or, agreed upon. Have I stopped being introverted? The fact that I kinda want to spend the next few days with no human interaction says otherwise, the fact that most of my thoughts are kept to myself makes me check all the boxes of Carl Jung’s¹  definition:

“Introvert a person whose motives and actions are directed inward. Introverts tend to be preoccupied with their own thoughts and feelings and minimize their contact with other people.”

And well all my life I kinda identify myself as such, but, could the outgoing “mask” that I sometimes use be in fact my true self and the shy/introverted self the true mask?

I have to say, I’m kinda lost here, so I decided to quickly run the Myers-Briggs test² so I could attest in fact what am I, since one of the topics there evaluated there is, in fact, Introvert/Extrovert ratio, and to no surprise of mine the result came as 70% Introvert and 30% as extrovert.

But still, I’m having trouble understanding why I could be seen as anything else but an introvert, and the fact that I barely had little to none social life last semester should be some kind of indicator.But alas, it was not, and what really surprised me was that it wasn’t a single person that tried to “relabel” me. But at the same time, other friends have to doubt of the fact that I’m introverted, honestly, I don’t know.

Well Honestly I have little more to add than this, so for now….

Wolfheart Out!


¹Carl Gustav Jung was a Swiss psychiatrist and psychotherapist who founded analytical psychology. Responsible for coining the terms introvert and extrovert

²The Myers–Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) is an introspective self-report questionnaire designed to indicate psychological preferences in how people perceive the world and make decisions. The MBTI was constructed by Katharine Cook Briggs and her daughter Isabel Briggs Myers.

 

Leave a Reply

