Arnehm, Geek, Marvel, Movie, Netherlands., Review

Dr. Strange {Movie Review}

mv5bmjm2oda4mtm0m15bml5banbnxkftztgwnze5otyxmdi-_v1_sy1000_cr006831000_al_Let me start by saying that this text actually begins before seeing the movie.

I’m a huge comic book nerd. That is a fact.

I’m not one to side neither for DC nor for Marvel, to be honest, I don’t really care if the character is made by either.
That being said, I have to also admit that I’ve completely forgotten that Dr.Strange was coming to the cinemas (the fact that I actively avoid seeing trailers (to the point that if I’m in a theater I put my headphones during a trailer).
So although I’m very curious to see what is in store for the Sorcerer Supreme of Earth, I’m not in a fanboy state, but pleasantly hopeful.

Ok, back from the movies! Well, I have to say that in terms of quality this movie ranks high up compared to others MCU (Marvel Cinematic Universe) movies. I would not say as good as Guardians of the Galaxy but close enough.

I’m going to try to divide this review into two major sections, spoiler free and spoiler-rich.

Spoiler Free Section

mv5bowvhyzm5ndytzjy3zc00odvkltg2mwutmzhlymflzjqzmdy4xkeyxkfqcgdeqxvynjy2mtmznjg-_v1_sx1777_cr001777726_al_So! No spoilers! Hmmm, let me see. This movie stands as not only the origin story of Dr. Steven Strange and magic to the MCU. Although we have seen “science”, gods, mutants and regular humans capable of extraordinary physical feats, we haven’t got to see any magic yet.
And that is where Dr. Strange comes in.
The character is arguably one of the most if not the most powerful magic users of Marvel. In the spoiler section, I’ll dwell a bit more on this but let’s just say that I really like how they translated the spells from paper to screen. Let me just sidetrack for a moment and talk about the visuals; the comics are known to have a psychedelic vibe to it, especially the originals by Steve Ditko, and in the movie they manage to create a “realistic” version of those environments, and for once I’m thankful for having IMAX on my town’s Theater, as it was so worth it. The unique patterns and sci-fi/retro-futuristic images that were made pop soo much with IMAX. As for the spells as I was saying they are a bit … how should I put this…Harry Potter”esc”, which is not a bad thing. Actually, I see Harry Potter as the Standart for “movie magic” like Star Wars is the standard for “movie space warfare”.

mv5bztyymwy3zgityjg0my00nzjjltgxmwitoteymmi5ndq2zjlixkeyxkfqcgdeqxvymzc0odg4oa-_v1_sy1000_cr0015021000_al_Now let me try to talk about the story itself, without spoiling it.
So as mentioned before this is the origin story of Steven Strange….Dr. Steven Strange, portrayed by the ever so difficult to spell Barbican Cumberbatch. He not only looks like the comic version but also possesses the gravitas and the lightness needed to the role. Benefyll Slanderminch really manages to convey the good doctor all throughout his magical journey.
This will be no spoiler, has it is the standard for an origin story, but This movie follows the Hero’s Journey formula.
And like any “hero’s Journey” Strange is going to meet a mentor, known as the Ancient One (portrayed by the British actress Tilda Swinton), make some enemies (where one may or may not be portrayed by Hanibal’s own Mads Mikkelsen).
Making a spoiler free review is always so challenging…

All I can say is that honestly the roles were well-cast, and the actors not only played the role but manage to bring a new light to some of the characters, that like any comic to movie adaptation get fleshed out. Thankfully the actors chosen made this conversion a lot better than usual. The wardrobe was also up to par and managed to make a seamless fusion between traditional monk clothing and the robes and clothes of the comic.

So for those that desire no spoilers, I advise you to stop reading after the next picture.

Just a quick last statement. If you are into Super Heros, follow the MCU, like Movies about magic, or love to see psychedelics visuals on the silver screen….Go and see it! ITS SOOO MUCH worth it!mv5bngjlzmyxmwmtyjlios00oge5ltk0ymitytvhzmnjywzlzjnjxkeyxkfqcgdeqxvyndqxnjcxnq-_v1_sx1777_cr001777732_al_

Spoiler section!

mv5bngeymjdmzjytmjhiyi00ntzhltk0zjitzmzmyzeyntq0mziwxkeyxkfqcgdeqxvynju1mde0nta-_v1_With all the restraints and schackels of a proper spoiler alert undone, its time for the real review.

I like it a lot!

 

 

 

Sorry.

As I said before, the cast and wardrobe and visual effects really make this movie shine, even when comparing to it’s MCU brethren.

From both a comic book fan, and a movie goer, I am well pleased that they not only filled the movie with references, continued the road to the infinity wars, and more importantly, it revealed the Location of the last infinity stone, the Time Stone.

As for the movie itself, I am really pleased with the first arc, the introduction, and the second, the introduction of magic, but not so much with the third and final arc, as in my opinion Strange began the battles as a complete weakling to kick some serious ass in less than twenty minutes. I know he is not only a natural magic user and a genius, but still.

To be honest, all from the mid-point in the movie I think that everything was a bit too rushed, with an ending that shows not only a Dr. Strange II but the inclusion of Strange in the MCU. I honestly think that if not for the rush that they had….the movie would be even greater.

In the end, I will give this movie 5 infinity stones out of 6 possible ones.

Leave a Reply

