Blaberring, Interest Wednesday, Life, Past, Personal, Quick Bites

Old Essay

Today I’ve decided to do some spring cleaning, and took EVERYTHING, out of my closet/shelves/whatever and cleaned it “undust” it and rearrange it.

At some point I opened an old notebook….well over 10 years old, and to my astonishment I discovered an old English essay, and although I don’t really have a date I reckon it is from 2007/2008 maybe earlier, and so here it is in an unedited version….errors and all hope you guys enjoy it!

What makes a good friend and how to be a good friend.

There are some definitions for a friend; one of them is that a friend is a person attached to another by feelings of affection or personal regard.

But I think that a friend is so much more, not just an “attachment” as the dictionary states, a friend is part of yourself, it’s the helping hand in times of need, but is also available to both cheer and cry in high and low times. But to have a friend you have to be a friend, it’s a symbiotic relationship.

Friendship it’s like an unwritten contract, where both parties vow loyalty, support and above all mutual respect, witch -in my most sincere opinion- are the “key ingredients to a successful friendship.

I also believe that it takes more than just that to be a true friend, there are numerous characteristics that should be taken in consideration, like honesty, watching for each other, if your friend is going through a crisis don’t tell them everything is going to be all right if it is not going to be, never make a promise you know you can’t keep, listen to them don’t be selfish.

One of the biggest challenges to any friendship it’s time, wich can act as a double-edged sword, reinforcing the relationship or crushing it to dust, that’s where the test is, and only there we can understand and truly appreciate the other.

But during out life we will find everything from acquaintances, false friends, betrayers, friends, convenience friends, and great friends, so it’s important to analyse each person and to use the mind not only the heart.

Ok, after writing everything and avoid the temptation to correct some mistakes that almost drove me mad….  was able to ascertain a couple of things, this was around the time I read Fight Club for the first time and year was in fact 2007 (I was able to pinpoint due to some expressions and just the overall writing style).

Well this was just a fun little tidbit on my past that I think you guys might enjoy!

And as always….. Tom signing off!

Leave a Reply

