Me and Cinema…”It’s complicated”

Like many of you, I like going to the movies. What a schoker…( a little-known secret I also enjoy other things like watching television and stuff like that but don’t go around letting anyone). And I can connect some special and fun memories with cinema, and movies in general; from sleepover with friends where we saw utter garbage like “Superhero Movie“, “Disturbia“, and those nights where we saw movies that completely changed my mind like “Fight Club” (yeah I know that this makes me a basic bro… but I relly love it),

same can be said about those lazy Sundays where me and my family just potato couched our way into all sorts of genres.

14940126_10209888740548129_2577301054538494980_o

But don’t get me started on cinema…yeah going to the cinema! Ever since I was a wee little lad I loved going to the movies, heck I’ll even dare to say it was MIND-BLOWING (all caps because it was indeed mind blowing). to tell you the truth I have some faint memories of going with my parents to the cinema for the first time…if I’m not mistaken I saw Pocahontas when I was four…again m

of genres when I’m *ahem* legally streaming on my laptop, and ultimately if I had to create a top 10 favourite movies, probably one one or two would fall under the Superhero genre.

But don’t get me started on cinema…yeah going to the cinema! Ever since I was a wee little lad I loved going to the movies, heck I’ll even dare to say it was MIND-BLOWING (all caps because it was indeed mind blowing). to tell you the truth I have some faint memories of going with my parents to the cinema for the first time…if I’m not mistaken I saw Pocahontas when I was four…again mind blowing. And don’t get me star

 

ted with the cinema “rituals”, the popcorns and drinks, the ” I really want to see this” reaction to trailers and the post-movie discussion SO GOOD!

1604824_10202779429619799_1713083175_nBut lately … well, I kinda “niched” my approach to cinema, at first not consciously but as a consequence of my life, eish dramatic much(?). And to be honest I only noticed this recently…apart from some exceptions I only go to the movies to see Super Hero movies…no not the one I mentioned before, I mean Marvel and DC Comic book superhero movies. And I noticed this in the beginning of this month, as I had some free time I thought “why not go and catch a movie?” but as loaded my local theatre schedule

 

 

I was almost immediately discouraged, when I realized that there wasn’t any superhero movie, thinking back on this what I really wanted to do was to see the new Wonder-Woman film, it isn’t like the movies available were bad or uninteresting, only that … the pretty much all the movies I see in the cinema are… Superhero Movies. And this got me thinking… why the hell, yeah I’m a pretty big fan of comic books, but I love a whole sleuth

 

 

12291840_10207122438712312_1441928199729289006_o
Yeah I know Star Wars is not a superhero movie….but I was kinda low on what images to put on this post

 

It took me a while, but I managed to figure it out…even though I like to say that I am a “lone wolf”, that I’m at my best alone and all that edgy stuff the thing is, these movies were the ones I had (and have) more joy debating and therefore these are the movies I love to talk AS SOON AS I GET OUT of the cinema, well that together with the fact that tickets get more expensive every year, and that lives, in general, get more chaotic every day…it ended up being actually a pretty logical choice.

I mean most of this movie are usually “popcorn movies” and designed with such vibrant scenes that most ordinary screens kinda dull it out, so me and my friends (at least as a group) kinda gravitated into only seeing superhero movies, and that kinda stuck with me, even when travelling around as I have.

And now I still have to wait a couple of days to see Diana Prince on the big screen… BAH

And as always…. Tom Signing off!

Leave a Reply

